A word about editing…

I have recently been spending equal (if not more) time on editing as I do on taking my photographs. I’ve found I’ve learnt a bunch of new techniques, and by studying other photographers work and watching numerous tutorials my confidence in Photoshop and other programs has really increased.

Instead of going out and organising new photoshoots (I’m doing that too, but more on that in another post), I’ve revisited a previous photoshoot to see where I can improve, and tackle the original photograph from another angle. You’ll see other versions of this photograph in an earlier post, and it was actually after realising yesterday that the original image was featured in an issue of Blur Magazine (www.blur-magazine.com/blur-magazine-31/) that I decided to re-visit it.

I love how seamlessly Lightroom, Photoshop and Color Efex work together, it’s embarassing to admit but I used to export from Lightroom, then import into Photoshop etc and end up with a dozen different versions eating up HD space before I reached the long-winded finished product. So in that sense, it is seriously making my life a hell of a lot easier. I’ve decided to post a before and after shot of this photograph and I’d love to hear your feedback on it. What techniques do you use, what have you found makes your life easier? leave a comment below 🙂

IMG_5306-Edit-3

4 thoughts on “A word about editing…

  1. Hi Jaime,
    I’m so glad I found your blog, I love your pics and your editing skills! I’m so passionate by photography as well, but I never got really serious into it. Timing wasn’t right I guess. Now I really want to improve my photography abilities as well as getting started on the editing world. I’d gladly appreciate some advice from you since you’re also a self taught photographer . I don’t have any editing software at this moment cause it’s hard for me to afford them (specially Photoshop). I’m thinking of getting Lightroom to get started. Which websites/tutorials do you recommend me to use? I’d like to get to the point where you are at right now. Really, your pics look amazing!

    • Hi there!
      Thanks for your message, it was so lovely to read. I would really recommend getting Lightroom if you are wanting to add that little bit extra to your photographs. If nothing else, it is a great tool to archive your photos and keep them all in a nice order if you ever want to go back and find a photo from a certain day. Photoshop can be really pricey and if you haven’t done a short course or have a tutor to help you learn how to use it, it will probably be a waste of money as it’s very, very confusing! If you do ever go down that road though, the Lynda tutorials are great. They offer step by step guides for beginners up to experienced users and everything in between. I haven’t used Lynda for Lightroom however I would assume they do the same (you do have to pay for a membership though). Basically if you just go to youtube, there is an endless supply of free tutorials from people wanting to share their knowledge and tricks in Lightroom, Nik efex, Photoshop or pretty much anything for that matter, sometimes you just have to look a bit harder for the good ones.

      The great thing about Lightroom is that it comes pre-loaded with a bunch of really cool presets which you can layer over any of your photographs to give them whichever effect you desire. Once you are comfortable with that, try adjusting them yourself, see what the bars on the left-hand side do, and just trial and error! Eventually you will stop using the presets as you gain full control over the photograph yourself, but in the meantime, they are a perfect place to start 🙂

      I hope this helps and please email me with any other questions you might have. I’m in no way an expert but I’m always happy to help!
      Jaime x

  2. Hi, just found your blog. I use Lightroom as my base, nik and a few other presets. For an amateur. that’s all I need. Even then I’m probably only using less than 20% of what’s available to me. I usually know how I want my image to look so I often just use the same steps.

    • Hi Lignum,

      Thanks for your message. I totally agree with what you are saying – especially when you bring Photoshop into the game, there are endless opportunities with what you can do with your photos – TOO many options, sometimes you need to take a step away from your computer as it’s all too overwhelming!

      I feel I am the same, I have my own little routine which works for me and most of my photos, and I like to stick to it. I’m glad you have found something that works for you too, keep up the great work 🙂

Leave a Reply

